code prole

Icon

coding for the proletariat since 1977

Updating My OS

I am preparing to upgrade my primary computer, a Macintosh Powerbook G4, to Tiger aka Mac OS X 10.4. When I made the upgrade from Jaguar (10.2.8) to Panther (10.3) I inadvertently lost all the web and java related development software that was installed in the /usr/local directory structure.

On that occasion I made use of the archive and install feature, which worked flawlessly. It was my own ignorance of the process that caused the loss of my files. This time, being forewarned, I’ll be archive the /usr/local contents, and a couple of other directory trees before starting the install.

The real trick will be getting all the files back into place afterwards.

Filed under: Mac OS X

Leave a Reply

