code prole

Icon

coding for the proletariat since 1977

Network Latency

Yesterday morning I started the IBM Installation Manager so I could update my version of RSA from 7.0 to 7.0.0.2.  Twenty-three hours later the process was still running having completed only 53% of the estimated work.  Obviously something wasn’t kosher.  When I discovered the process was still running this morning my first thought was that the anti-virus software was inspecting the download and causing it to run so slowly.  However, a quick peak at the active processes revealed no virus scanning activity.  After describing the situation to a fellow denizen of the local cube-farm I tried disconnecting all the network drives attached to my workstation.  In the next twenty minutes the process finished the final 47%.

It would seem that here at Widgets-R-Us network latency is a problem.

Filed under: Miscellaneous, RSA

Leave a Reply

